Protecting People and Environment


The NorthWest Interstate Compact or NWIC is a cooperative effort of eight states to protect people and the environment, and maintain and enhance economic viability, while sharing the responsibilities of low-level radioactive waste management. The NWIC was created in 1981 with member states Alaska, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Utah, and Washington. The NWIC was ratified by Congress in 1985. Wyoming was the eighth state to join the compact in March of 1992.